h1

Primitive Antique Ring Holder FIND

October 15, 2008

There is a local Flea Market (indoor antique mall) on the way to my kids’ school.  I had about 20 minutes to kill yesterday, so I wandered in and around the 100 plus booths in this place.  I was nearly tearing myself away from the kitch when I saw this treasure.  Being a jadeite collector, my eye is always drawn to shades of green – and this little guy drew me in.  It is a wooden coffee pot ring holder.  On it reads:

“Let me hold your rings for you while dishes or washing you do”

It’s clearly been used.  The paint is chipping and there are water spots on it – scars from many years of living on the counter next to the kitchen sink.

When I took it to the checker, I said, “I’ve never seen anything like this before.”  Upon closer examination, she said SHE had never seen anything like it either.  I thought that was extraordinary for an antique purveyor to also not have seen an item like this before.   So, I came home, eager to jump on ebay and do some research on my new little treasure.  I have searched and googled and searched again – and found nothing else like this, nothing with the quote on it, NOTHING!  Can you believe it?  Well – I should say that I spent $6.50 for this ring holder and will most likely actually use it because we don’t have a dishwasher (as I’m sure it’s original owner didn’t either).  If YOU have any information on my little treasure, please leave a comment here.  I’d love to learn more about these.

One comment

  1. So cute! What an odd, cool find…

    Also, I will blog tomorrow, I promise. I uploaded photos and everything…



Leave a Reply

