h1

Patriots Day

September 11, 2008

First off – a very happy birthday to all who were born on this date – no matter the year – including my favorite dutch twins – Heidi and Tanya!

I remember journaling after 9/11/01. I don’t remember how much I cried – but of course I was profoundly affected.

Since then, I haven’t had much emotion about that day. My mouth still drops when I see the towers crumble in replay. Hearing stories of loved-ones lost makes me sad, but I don’t think I’ve cried about it until today.

Channel 4 news showed a tribute that Denver area firefighters did today. Over 300 metro area fire fighters climbed 110 flights of stairs in a Denver high-rise in honor of the firefighters and police that gave their lives in service at ground zero. For some reason this just got to me. When I think of the stairwells of the Twin Towers and how they were filled with raw confusion and chaos – it makes me so sad. Our civil servants tried all they could to keep people calm, take care of the injured and bring people down to safety.

Why? Why should we honor them? Because they are everything that is RIGHT about this country. They gave EVERYTHING for us. Those smoke-filled stairwells became the resting place of many.

We need to remember – – – so that we never forget.

Leave a comment