h1

Which came first???

May 15, 2008

The chicken or the egg? Well – I’ve come out of my Idol induced coma – to post a video that I just saw today. I’m not an animal rights activist – and I am actually pro-farmer – just not industrial farms. This video shows the treatment of laying hens at a facility in Turlock, California. I’m not saying we shouldn’t eat eggs – but maybe now would be a good time to look into getting your eggs from a local source – or at least find some that are cage-free – and fed a vegetarian diet.

WARNING:  THIS VIDEO IS VERY DISTURBING AND SHOULD NOT BE WATCHED BY SMALL CHILDREN

2 comments

  1. I’m not gonna watch because I’ve already been scarred by this post — before I read it, I had been trying to buy cage-free when I could…that cemented it for me. Yikes!!!


  2. This is a REALLY disturbing video, so sad and unnecessary! I have been buying free range eggs here for awhile for my own health benefits but just realized I pay $3DOLLARS for six eggs! While we talked in the US did I tell you my plan to have chickens for my own eggs? And a goat! For milk and cheese! I just told someone new yesterday. I can’t do it here, no space and the kids would provoke them too much. But someday . . .



Leave a Reply

