h1

just in time…

February 28, 2008

I actually made my contest-entry-dessert a long time ago — it’s just taken me this long to upload the photos. Speaking of which, this is going to be a very photo-heavy post….to be kind I’ll start after the jump!

dessert1.jpg

Still on my high from my first successful attempt at making Danish pastry, I whipped up another batch. Actually, I whipped up a half batch, but with the whole amount of milk, which I of course realized as soon as I started mixing it into the flour/butter, and it looked all wrong.

dessert2.jpg

So much for the half batch, and so much for getting it done quickly. I made another half-batch of the rest of the ingredients, forged ahead, and shockingly had no issues with the pastry.

We were headed to a Mardi Gras brunch and I knew the rest of the food would be fabulous, so I wanted to make something that would look great on the buffet. I rolled out the pastry and trimmed it into three (sort of) rectangles:

dessert3.jpg

…which I layered with confectioner’s cream…

dessert4.jpg

…and strawberries…

dessert5.jpg

…and drizzly goo. (That’s a technical term.)

It was enjoyed by all, and of course I forgot to bring my camera to photograph it…good thing the brunch was at the home of a professional photographer!

dessert.jpg

(I’m so nice, I even baked the pastry scraps and rolled them in butter and cinnamon sugar for my kids. Who were invited to the brunch but went to Grandma’s instead. Yup, nice. That’s me.)

dessert6.jpg

So there we have it….the competition is stiff, but I’m crossing my fingers! 😉

7 comments

  1. Ooooh, yumm! You are nice…. I would have saved the scraps for myself.

    xoxox Amy


  2. How you expect to beat a boxed mix cake and frosting from a can with *this*, I do not know. :snob:

    😉

    (I am drooling over those scraps. Holy cow – that would be exactly, totally, carborifically PERFECT right now.)


  3. :drool: Holy cow. You are my idol.


  4. I used to do something similar, but with frozen phyllo and pudding from a box. 🙂

    I’m sure it can’t even compare!


  5. […] knit, surf the internet & play Scrabble…. to name a few of her likes. She prepared a Danish Strawberry Pastry which looks perfect now, but apparently there were some “issues” with the first […]


  6. very cool!


  7. Julie,
    It looks incredibly yummy and beautiful! Great work!



Leave a Reply

