h1

He’s a few BLANKS short of a BLANK – et al

September 5, 2007

Help me everyone! I want to compile a list of these wonderful phrases you hear daily about people that are, “Not playing with a full deck.” They make me giggle.

(Credit is given to whomever leads me to the saying. . . not that they said it themselves.)

“A few fries short of a Happy Meal”

“Not the sharpest crayon in the box”

“As dumb as a bag of hammers” (bh)

“Not the brightest bulb in the box”

“Few cans shy of a six-pack”

“one pork chop short of a mixed grill” (bh)”Not the sharpest knife in the drawer”

“Not rowing with both oars”

“As dumb as a bag of rocks” (bo)

“Not firing on all cylinders”

“Bout as sharp as a sack of wet mice”(bo)

“Couldn’t pour water out of a boot if it had instructions on the heel.'”(bo) – my fave so far

“He’s half a bubble off.” (contractor/level – Thanks C!)

9 comments

  1. “Dumber than a box of rocks”

    lots more here:
    http://www.clichesite.com/content.asp?which=tip+3000
    and here:
    http://ask.metafilter.com/63242/Heshe-has-the-IQ-of-a


  2. I believe it’s *dumb* as a bag of hammers…at least that’s what B. called me when I got my Mensa test results… 😉


  3. B. adds: one pork chop short of a mixed grill

    lol


  4. He’s half a bubble off.

    That’s what my husband and his dad say all of the time — you can tell they are building contractors (referring to a level). lol

    These were fun reading.


  5. I wish I could contribute, but I always manage to mix up 2 sayings and put them in one. Which makes me ‘a few cans shy of a bulb in a box’. 🙂


  6. I’m here, I’m here!!!

    I think I’m having email troubles! I sent a BethanyBabes life update at the same time several other people did a month or so ago.

    Jodi, I also emailed you after I got your package, then got your email asking if I ever got it, then sent another email again right away. I sent it from hotmail directly so I don’t have a saved copy. Plus I’ve sent a few group email newsletters and I guess you haven’t gotten those?

    Let me know if you get this. I’m going to copy it to a comment on your blog!
    Love you, Laura


  7. I’ve always enjoyed this descriptive phrase:

    “Not the brightest bulb on the Christmas tree.”

    And then of course there are these, some of which can be used according to profession: “Not cooking on all burners,” “His/her elevator doesn’t go all the way to the top,” He/she is a few bricks shy of a full load,” “Not the sharpest scalpel in the OR,” and “A few cookies (or eggs, donuts–whatever) shy of shy of a full dozen.”

    Hope these help in your search for charitable, yet humorous, descriptions of ourselves when we’re not performing at our full potential!

    Best wishes,

    Gigi Patrignani
    ggpat@atlanticbb.net


  8. ‘a few clowns short of a circus’


  9. A few prawns short of a galaxy



Leave a Reply

