h1

to go or not to go?

August 24, 2007

My 20-year high school reunion is in two weeks.

I’m strangely conflicted about attending…not that I look awful or I’m at all unhappy with where I am in my life. It’s hard to put my finger on it. Beyond the friends I still keep in touch with, there are about six people I’d like to see. I felt the same way going n to the 10-year reunion, and came out with a big “who cares” feeling. Like I didn’t really care about these people, and they didn’t care about me either. The booklet that said where everyone was and what they were doing was really interesting, but not exactly worth the $60 or whatever it was.

But I feel like if I don’t go, I’ll regret it or something.

Hm.

5 comments

  1. My mom attended her 25th reunion a while back (a few years before she got sick). She was conflicted about it, just as you are. In the end she decided to go. It wasn’t a long drive, and it wasn’t super expensive. Only about 15-20 of her classmates ended up attending. But she reconnected with two of her dear friends, and she said it was wonderful to catch up. It went better for her than she thought it would, and she was glad she went.

    My husband on the other hand won’t go to his reunions for anything. He says that there is nobody there that really cares about him, so he’d rather spend his money golfing. lol

    I will have have to make the choice, seeing as how I was home-schooled.

    So I have no sage advice. Just a lot of words to say. haha

    Hey, thank you for that link. I really did enjoy that article. I just love old ladies!


  2. I say go. It’s close by – get your friends to go. If you don’t see anyone else you care about, at least you’ll have had fun with friends. But I bet you’ll see a few people that’ll make it worth it.


  3. Go! If you don’t have to make out of state plans, and it’s not a huge pain to drive, then I’d totally go. To get to mine, I have to fly cross country and I don’t think I’d ever do that for a reunion…but if I didn’t have to make such drastic plans I’d like to go back and hand around teh outside to peek in on what’s going on. Kinda like how I was in HIgh School, actually. πŸ™‚


  4. Dude – nobody says you HAVE to pay the $60. (Well, I guess the organizers say that…)

    I’m just saying. Was my 10 year worth the insane $125 it cost to go to? Absolutely not. Was it worth the dress I bought to wear while I was sneaking in? Yeppers. πŸ˜‰


  5. i found my 20th to me very different from my 10th, and much more fun. at the 10th, all the trappings of the high school social order were there. there were people who didn’t want to talk to me (and also people i didn’t want to talk to). at the 20th, everyone was much more relaxed and the barriers to conversing were mostly gone. no one had anything to prove, and it was way more interesting. of course, your mileage may vary.



Leave a Reply

