h1

alert the media

June 29, 2007

No, really, I’m serious.

Now that I have a good-sized basil plant, I figured it was time to whip up a batch of Arwen’s pesto. My kind of recipe! I have never eaten pesto, let alone made it myself, but the list of ingredients looked good, and I do have a bitty Cuisinart, so off I went.

pesto.jpg

Isn’t it lovely?

(That’s the Circulon pan I got today at a garage sale for $5. Now, I’m really cheap. There are few things I’d pay $5 for at a garage sale, and I have to say, I made a good call here. I have two other 12″ pans, but one is too deep for many everyday dishes, and the other has a biiiig loooong handle that irritates me. This one is perfect! And the lid that fits my other two also fits this one perfectly!)

So, it’s really tasty. But that’s not the newsworthy part. It is: MY SIX YEAR OLD ATE THIS. yes, that’s right, my ultra-picky 6yo. I was absolutely gobsmacked, because let’s face it, it looks funny. It’s green and grainy-looking and not at all what I thought would appeal to her. I did have to give her a quarter to try it, but then she voluntarily ate a serving. Like, six bites off of my plate then I got her her own.

Unbelievable. Woo.

2 comments

  1. It looks delicious!!!


  2. Looks yummy! Can I have some? WTG niece!



Leave a Reply

