h1

I’m just sayin’

May 17, 2007

Let me preface this post by stating that by the standards of those around me, I’m pretty “green.” While I didn’t use cloth diapers (sorry, DH had to change too many of those in his youth), our everyday life is chock full of things that take more effort, but we do them to be good stewards of the earth. We compost our yard and food waste. We recycle — so much, in fact, that we only have to put out actual trash once or twice a month. We send lunches to school in reusable containers, and use reusable bags when we shop. We drive small cars that get excellent gas mileage. Heck, I’m even attempting to grow food in the back yard. If I’m successful this year, next year we’ll start harvesting rainwater.

I say these things not to toot my own horn, but to get across the point that I’m not hostile to environmental issues. Quite the opposite. But I care so much *not* because I think humans are warming the planet…the whole alarmist global warming crowd makes me absolutely mental. We do them because they’re the right thing to do.

I almost spit out my coffee when I read this on weather.com (emphasis mine):

“More than a century’s worth of detailed climate observations show a sharp increase in both carbon dioxide and temperature. These observations, together with computer model simulations and historical climate reconstructions from ice cores, ocean sediments and tree rings all provide strong evidence that the majority of the warming over the past century is a result of human activities. This is also the conclusion drawn, nearly unanimously, by climate scientists. Any meaningful debate on the topic amongst climate experts is over.

OVER? Are they out of their flipping minds?

Perhaps they didn’t get the memo….

You won’t hear about that one in the MSM, though.

One comment

  1. You go girl! I’m right there with ya’!



Leave a Reply

