h1

High Alti&?*%$tude Baking

April 14, 2007

Ah the well laid plans of mice and moms. I purchased the More from Magnolia cookbook after reading reviews and stories and tales of cupcakes businesses gone awry. Their cupcakes are world famous – and I wanted to bake them. My daughter’s 6th birthday party is tomorrow – what would be prettier than a tower of pastel cupcakes???

cupcakes.jpg
This is the cover of the cookbook.

I started out grumpy this morning for some reason. I started on the frosting first, but the way the recipe is written – you add milk to softened butter – which made my butter harden up and now it’s in little pieces. Hopefully I’ll salvage that. The cupcake recipe called for self-rising flour – which I know is a no-no in Colorado because there’s too much leavening in it. So I instead add 1t of baking powder to my flour. This is probably where things went wrong. The batter was divine albeit very stiff and bumpy. My cupcakes ended up resembling pop-overs more than cupcakes. Taste good – look terrible.

000_0630.jpg

Now, this party is for a bunch of kindergarteners – so what do they care if the recipe is from the famous Magnolia Bakery in Manhattan? Of course they don’t care. So. . . Betty to the rescue with a Party Rainbow Chip cake mix.

000_0632.jpg

There’s new Jumbo Confetti Sprinkles out by Wilton – tooo fun. They’re nearly dime size. The pastel sprinkles were from Target (75% off). They’re not perfect but they’ll do.

Look at this!!!  Cupcake holders!!! 

4 comments

  1. Awwww…you know I feel your pain!

    Maybe the butter seized because the milk was cold??

    Feeling like the worst aunt ever,

    Me

    ps, we will send a video tonight 🙂


  2. Yes – it most certainly did – and it never did come back together. I had to start over – only I incorporated the sugar into the butter before adding the milk.

    The recipe really should say to do that – or to bring milk to room temperature – what a mess.

    Oh – and the jumbo confetti look cool – but taste horrible.


  3. I’m sorry your cupcakes didn’t turn out. 😦
    I’ve avoided buying cookbooks with pictures, because my food always looks like a 2nd grader made it, and I get sad when I look at the picturs of what it should look like.
    The jumbo sprinkles are really cute. I’m not surprised they taste horrible though. I think that’s why they’re made small — because you can’t taste how horrible they are. lol
    For the record, my son wants to eat cupcakes for breakfast now. He saw yours and think they look “tasty like I want them for breakfast”. haha
    Happy Birthday to your daughter!


  4. Thanks Carrie! I was wondering what to have for breakfast. . .



Leave a Reply

