h1

aaaahhh

April 10, 2007

You know when you have babies, how you can calm yourself down by repeating, “it’s just a phase. It’s just a phase…” because everything is a phase? (Worked for me, anyway.)

I really miss that.

Now I’m not quite sure what to think when I have this kind of exchange:

Me: Please don’t do that.
6yo: FINE! If you DON’T LOVE ME and you want to SCREAM AT ME and NEVER LET ME DO ANYTHING then FINE!
Me: I didn’t say any of that. I asked you politely to stop what you were doing.
6yo: FINE! Nobody loves me!
Me: *sigh*

Oh, the drama — I’m fearing it’s not a phase.

I know, I know, people are always saying that girls are so hard to raise because of all the drama. But really, I wasn’t a dramatic kid, at least not that I remember. I think both of us were pretty even-tempered. (Am I fooling myself here?) So I never had trepidations about raising girls. I just figured they’d be nice, rational, even-tempered creatures like myself.

Ha.

One comment

  1. Oh dear. Where’d she pick that up from? She’s amazing.



Leave a Reply

