h1

my rendezvous with the Bosch

March 27, 2007

So, since I have a wimpy little grinder, I started milling flour on Friday. The bread recipe calls for 18 cups of whole wheat flour…dude, that’s a lot of flour. (DH was all, “that’s an expensive loaf of bread you’re making, there.” Um, yeah, that’s 6 loaves, I corrected.) I didn’t mill on Saturday. Sunday I started again…and I’ve been very gentle, folks. Mill, wait ten minutes. Mill, wait ten minutes.

Long story short, the mill has given up the ghost. Sunday evening we weren’t sure, but Monday morning the POOF! of toxic smoke followed by a baaaad noise followed by silence confirmed it. (I was about two cups short, so I threw in white bread flour.)

So these Bosch-loving-whole-wheat-bread-making people really speak the truth. 90 minutes from start to finish. Six loaves of bread (or in my case, two loaves, one loaf of cinnamon bread, a batch of cinnamon rolls, a batch of plain rolls, and twelve hamburger buns). Truly amazing.

My biggest challenge actually stemmed from the fact that the dough rose faster than I wanted it to. If I’d just been making loaves, it would have been easier; since I was shaping all sorts of stuff, some were ready for baking before others. And I knew from experience that if the loaves over-rose, then they would fall during baking. So in the interest of not having that happen, I baked everything before the rolls and buns were really ready. Also, I should have moved the oven racks — the buns were on the bottom rack, so they were too browned on the bottom. I just cut them off so I’d have 6 buns instead of 12. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Today I attempted my favorite roll recipe, but with half whole wheat flour. These are the holy grail of rolls to me, so I really, really hesitate to mess with them. I’ve tried it before, but it just didn’t rise well. So I figured I should give it a try in the Bosch. The results were pretty meh…same problem as yesterday: the two cinnamon loaves rose too much and fell (GRR!) and everything else is so-so…not bad by any means but not as fab as these rolls usually are. Nothing to write home about. Much of it is destined to become croutons, I think. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Lesson learned: shape the loaves last.

The verdict? I’d like to have one of my own, but I can wait. I’m a little breaded out right now.

Leave a Reply

